The USA Rice Council announced the election of California producer Charley Mathews as chairman and Arkansas producer Joe Mencer, California producer Sean Doherty and Louisiana producer Jimmy Hoppe all as vice chairmen of the USA Rice Council. Other elected officers include Carl Brothers, secretary, and Jamie Warshaw, treasurer. Each will serve a two-year term that begins Aug. 1.

Outgoing USA Rice Council Chairman Clarence Berken was presented with a plaque to commemorate his service as chairman. “You were a great chairman during a time with many challenges for the organization,” said incoming Chairman Charley Matthews. “We thank you for your leadership.”