In August 2012, the California Wheat Commission will conduct district elections for the positions of Commissioner and Alternate Commissioner for five California districts: District 1 – Siskiyou, Tehama, Lassen, Modoc & Shasta Counties, District 5 – Alameda, Contra Costa, Stanislaus & San Joaquin Counties, District 8 – Kings & Tulare Counties, District 10 – Santa Barbara, San Luis Obispo, Monterey, San Benito & Santa Clara Counties and District 13 – Imperial County lying south of Keystone Road. The term of office for Commissioners and their Alternates is three years.

Involvement in the California Wheat Commission enables California producers to take a more active role in national wheat organizations and wheat policymaking bodies. A qualified producer member or alternate is defined as any person who is engaged within this state in the business of producing wheat for market during any of the preceding three marketing seasons, and who must reside or conduct farming operations in the district in which the election is to be held.

Interested individuals may obtain a nomination petition via the Commission’s website in the News/Info section or by calling the Wheat Commission office at (530) 661-1292. To be included on the ballot, completed nomination petitions must be returned to the Commission no later than July 23, 2012.