USDA has designated Cibola County in New Mexico as a primary natural disaster area due to damages and losses caused by the recent drought.

“Our hearts go out to those New Mexico farmers and ranchers affected by the recent natural disasters,” said Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack. “President Obama and I are committed to ensuring that agriculture remains a bright spot in our nation’s economy by sustaining the successes of America’s farmers, ranchers, and rural communities through these difficult times. We are also telling New Mexico producers that USDA stands with you and your communities when severe weather and natural disasters threaten to disrupt your livelihood.”

Farmers and ranchers in the following counties in New Mexico also qualify for natural disaster assistance because their counties are contiguous. Those counties are: Bernalillo, Catron, McKinley, Sandoval, Socorro, Valencia.

All other New Mexico counties that would be eligible under 7 CFR 759.5 (a), already have been designated as primary natural disaster areas.

Farmers and ranchers in Apache county in Arizona also qualify for natural disaster assistance.