Representatives Mike Michaud (ME-02) and Pete Stark (CA-13) led a bipartisan coalition of 59 members of Congress in calling on the U.S. Olympic Committee (USOC) to ensure that Team USA’s uniforms are made in the United States, not in factories overseas. The American company Ralph Lauren designed Team USA's uniforms for the 2012 Summer Olympics, yet had them manufactured in China.

(For more, see: China fires back over Olympic uniform controversy)

The letter is supported by the AFL-CIO and the National Council of Textile Organizations and represents the largest groundswell of opposition to the USOC policy to date.

Rep. Stark: “We don't outsource the athletes who represent the United States in the Olympics and we shouldn't outsource the manufacturing of Team USA's uniforms. The fact that our American uniforms were made in China is a glaring reminder that we've gotten away from a core value: our country's success is built on the innovation and industriousness of the American worker. When we deviate from that, we fail. That is why we're calling on the U.S. Olympic Committee to reflect these values and ensure that Team USA's uniforms are made in America.”

(For more, see: US companies eager for Olympic uniform production)

Rep. Michaud: “We need to see more ‘made in America’ again, and our athletes’ uniforms are a perfect place to start. The outsourcing of these uniforms was a mistake that shouldn’t be repeated. Our athletes are a source of national pride for the United States and so too should be the work that goes into making the uniforms they wear.”

Cass Johnson, President of the National Council of Textile Organizations: “Congress has a golden opportunity to send a message to the U.S. Olympic Committee that, like our great Olympic athletes, U.S. workers deserve their support as well. If the USOC takes the time, they will find U.S. textile workers standing ready and able to supply all textile products the Committee needs.”

For a PDF copy of the letter, click here.

Alphabetical list of members of Congress on the letter:

  • Joe Baca
  • Tammy Baldwin
  • Leonard L. Boswell
  • Robert A. Brady
  • Bruce Braley
  • Corrine Brown
  • David Cicilline
  • Wm. Lacy Clay
  • John Conyers, Jr.
  • Mark S. Critz
  • Elijah Cummings
  • Peter A. DeFazio
  • Rosa L. DeLauro
  • Mike Doyle
  • Donna F. Edwards
  • Sam Farr
  • Bob Filner
  • Gene Green
  • Raul M. Grijalva
  • Alcee L. Hastings
  • Brian Higgins
  • Maurice D. Hinchey
  • Rush Holt
  • Steve Israel
  • Walter B. Jones
  • Marcy Kaptur
  • Dale E. Kildee
  • Larry Kissell
  • Dennis Kucinich
  • Barbara Lee
  • Dan Lipinski
  • Dave Loebsack
  • Carolyn B. Maloney
  • Jim McDermott
  • Jim McGovern
  • Michael Michaud
  • Brad Miller
  • George Miller
  • Chris Murphy
  • Sue Myrick
  • Richard E. Neal
  • Eleanor Holmes Norton
  • Bill Pascrell, Jr.
  • Chellie Pingree
  • Charles B. Rangel
  • Laura Richardson
  • Tim Ryan
  • Linda Sanchez
  • Jan Schakowsky
  • Bobby Schilling
  • Brad Sherman
  • Heath Shuler
  • Pete Stark
  • Betty Sutton
  • Mike Thompson
  • Nikki Tsongas
  • Pete Viscolsky
  • Peter Welch
  • Lynn C. Woolsey