The California Wheat Commission (CWC) will conduct district elections for the positions of commissioner and alternate commissioner for three commission grower districts during August.

The wheat grower districts are: District 3 – Amador, El Dorado, Placer, Nevada, Sacramento , and Solano counties; District 5 – Monterey, San Benito, San Francisco, San Luis Obispo, San Mateo, Santa Barbara, Santa Cruz, Santa Clara, and Ventura counties; and District 8 – Kern, Los Angeles, Riverside, and San Bernardino counties.

A qualified candidate is any Californian engaged in the business of producing wheat for market during any of the preceding three marketing seasons. They must reside on farms in the district.

 Obtain a nomination petition via the commission’s website in the News-Info section or by calling the CWC office at (530) 661-1292.

To be included on the ballot, completed nomination petitions must be returned to the commission by July 29, 2014.

Involvement in the CWC allows producers to help determine the commission's program and budget priorities.

The Commission is also active in several national organizations, giving commissioners a direct role in major industry issues.

The term of office for commissioners and alternates is three years.

In addition to the districts up for election, vacancies exist for the alternate commissioner positions in District 6 (Fresno County) and District 7 (Inyo, Kings, and Tulare counties).

Interested growers may get more information from the commission.

Wheat growers voted to establish the CWC in 1983 to develop and maintain domestic and international markets for California wheat, plus support research that improves California wheat quality and marketability.

The CWC operates under the California Food and Agriculture Code. The commission is funded by assessments paid by wheat growers.

The CWC is guided by a board which includes nine wheat producers, two handlers, two at-large members, and one public member -- each with alternates.