The Advanced Ethanol Council (AEC) is pleased to welcome ZeaChem as a new member. ZeaChem is a developer of biorefineries for the conversion of cellulosic biomass into a diverse portfolio of sustainable fuels and chemicals.

“ZeaChem is pleased to join the Advanced Ethanol Council, which has quickly and effectively established itself as a leading voice for the advanced ethanol industry,” said Jim Imbler, president & CEO of ZeaChem Inc. “Our priorities are similarly aligned to accelerate the construction of commercial production facilities, support the production of cellulosic ethanol, and promote the positive benefits of sustainable and economical advanced biofuels.”

ZeaChem’s 250,000 gallons per year (GPY) demonstration biorefinery is located in Boardman, Ore., at the Port of Morrow. The company has started core project operations for the production of intermediate chemicals and cellulosic ethanol production will begin this year. A first commercial biorefinery of 25 million or more GPY is currently under development and will be located adjacent to the demonstration facility.

“We are very pleased to have ZeaChem on board at the Advanced Ethanol Council (AEC),” said Bill Brady, President and CEO of Mascoma and Chairman of the AEC.  “The next several years are absolutely critical to the evolution of advanced ethanol fuels and technologies, and it is encouraging to see the major players aligning from both an organizational and public policy perspective. ZeaChem is an excellent addition to the Council, and we look forward to working with Jim Imbler and the ZeaChem team on policy and outreach efforts that will put the industry in the best position to succeed in 2012 and beyond.”

The Advanced Ethanol Council (AEC), in partnership with the Renewable Fuels Association, represents worldwide leaders in the effort to develop and commercialize the next generation of ethanol fuels, ranging from cellulosic ethanol made from dedicated energy crops, forest residues and agricultural waste to advanced ethanol made from municipal solid waste, algae and other feedstocks.

The AEC is the only advanced biofuel group with the singular purpose of promoting advanced ethanol fuels and technologies. Twelve member companies make up the AEC including, Abengoa Bioenergy Corp, Beta Renewables, BlueFire Renewables, Coskata, Enerkem, Fulcrum BioEnergy, Inbicon, Iogen, Mascoma, Osage BioEnergy, Qteros and ZeaChem.