Frank Zalom, entomology professor at the University of California, Davis (UC Davis), is the 2010 winner of the “Award for Excellence in Integrated Pest Management” from the Entomological Society of America (ESA).

The award, sponsored by Syngenta Crop Protection, is given for outstanding contributions to integrated pest management (IPM).

Zalom will receive the award during the ESA’s annual meeting in San Diego in December.

Jocelyn Millar, an entomology professor at UC Riverside, calls Zalom “one of the most influential scientists in the development and implementation of IPM policy and practices in the United States and the world through his numerous and continuing contributions as a leader, director, and organizer.”

Zalom is an extension agronomist and an entomologist in the Agricultural Experiment Station. He is a former vice chair of the UC Davis Department of Entomology.

Zalom’s current research focuses primarily on California specialty crops including tree crops, small fruits, and fruiting vegetables, plus international IPM programs.

The IPM strategies and tactics Zalom has developed include monitoring procedures, thresholds, pest development and population models, biological controls, and the use of less toxic pesticides which have become standard in practice and part of the UC IPM Guidelines for crops.

Zalom’s lab has responded to six important pest invasions in the last decade with research projects on the glassy-winged sharpshooter, olive fruit fly, a new biotype of greenhouse whitefly, invasive saltcedar, light brown apple moth, and the spotted wing Drosophila.

Zalom has been heavily involved in research and leadership in IPM activities at the state, national and international levels. He is experiment station co-chair of the Association of Public and Land-Grant Universities (APLU) National IPM Committee and directed the UC IPM Statewide IPM Program for 16 years.

A fellow of ESA and the California Academy of Sciences, Zalom has received numerous other honors for his work. Earlier this year, the Pacific Branch of ESA presented him with its “Excellence in IPM Award.”