U.S. Department of Agriculture

USDA designated California’s Madera County as a primary natural disaster area April 24 due to damages and losses caused by the recent drought.

Farmers and ranchers in the following California counties also qualify for natural disaster assistance since the counties are contiguous: Fresno, Mariposa, Merced, Mono, and Tuolumne.

The counties were designated natural disaster areas making all qualified farm operators in the designated areas eligible for low interest emergency (EM) loans from USDA’s Farm Service Agency (FSA) provided eligibility requirements are met.

Want access to the very latest in agriculture news each day? Sign up for the Western Farm Press Daily e-mail newsletter.

Farmers in eligible counties have eight months from the date of the declaration to apply for loans to help cover part of their actual losses. FSA will consider each loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

FSA has a variety of programs, in addition to the EM loan program, to help eligible farmers recover from adversity.

Additional information is also available online at http://disaster.fsa.usda.gov.

More good info from Western Farm Press:

Agriculture readies for its ultimate challenge

Farmer feeds pigs with Vegas casino buffet food

What's the real story behind neonicotinoids and honey bee deaths?