The United States and the eight other countries negotiating the Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP) agreement have extended an invitation to Canada to join the TPP negotiations, pending successful conclusion of domestic procedures. In addition to the United States, the current TPP countries are Australia, Brunei Darussalam, Chile, Malaysia, New Zealand, Peru, Singapore, and Vietnam.

"Inviting Canada to join the TPP negotiations presents a unique opportunity for the United States to build upon this already dynamic trading relationship. Through TPP, we are bringing the relationship with our largest trading partner into the 21st century," said U.S Trade Representative Ron Kirk. "We look forward to continuing consultations with the Congress and domestic stakeholders regarding Canada's entry into the TPP as we move closer to a broad-based, high-standard trade agreement in the Asia-Pacific region."

The United States and Canada already enjoy free trade in rice as a result of the North America Free Trade Agreement.  Rice exports of 223,316 metric tons to Canada in 2011 were valued at $161 million.